Too much protein???!

Options
Hey guys - just wondering what everyones opinion on this is. I just started lifting weights as I am looking to lose a little bit of weight but mostly want to tone up and not just be 150 pounds of body fat. I have a friend who is also a trainer and gave me a meal plan that indicates that I should be having 4 oz of protein (either chicken, turkey, lean ground beef, shrimp) with every meal and 6 meals per day. This means that I will be eating 24 oz of these items each day. This seems like a lot to me. What do others think?

Replies

• BombshellPhoenix
    BombshellPhoenix Posts: 1,693 Member
    Options
    It's typically recommended 1g per pound of lean body mass in protein a day to help preserve lean mass. Hope you're weighing out your portions on a food scale. 4 oz of meat is not a lot.
  • Laurenloveswaffles
    Laurenloveswaffles Posts: 535 Member
    Options
    It's typically recommended 1g per pound of lean body mass in protein a day to help preserve lean mass. Hope you're weighing out your portions on a food scale. 4 oz of meat is not a lot.
    this.
  • kclay1021
    kclay1021 Posts: 56 Member
    Options

I definitely am weighing it out. I am definitely not relying on my skills for eyeballing portions (those are non existent - I have no issues admitting that). Mostly I weigh/cook in the morning and pack the food for the rest of the day so I know I am never left in a situation where I have to guess.

I weight 150 pounds so 1 gram per pound of is 150 grams. And 150 grams = 5 ounces of meat? ? I might be doing this wrong. Thats why I was checking in here. I have the formula that 1 gram = 0.035274 ounces. Is this true? Because if so then I am having WAAAAYYYY too much protein
  • asdowe13
    asdowe13 Posts: 1,951 Member
    Options