Just Diagnosed with T2 Diabetes

Options
Hello. My name is Chris. I am 5 11 and 257 pounds and was just diagnosed with T2 diabetes. I have a beautiful 9 year old daughter, an amazing girlfriend, and a job as a teacher I love. I have much to live for. I am interested in getting to know other people who are dealing with diabetes and working to reverse/manage their diabetes with lifestyle changes. Please friend me if you are looking for the same thing. :)

Replies

• thegreatcanook
    thegreatcanook Posts: 2,419 Member
    Options
    A horrible disease...My father-in-law's death because of it lit a fire under my wife and I to take charge of our health. Feel free to add me!
  • RachelSteeners
    RachelSteeners Posts: 249 Member
    Options
    I'm sorry to hear that. What was your A1C? Has your doctor referred you to a nutritionist?

I am currently pre-diabetic. My initial A1C was 6.6% then after three months of diet and weight loss I was able to reduce it to 5.5%!
  • ImaHazelnut
    Options
    Hearing the words "You have diabetes" can be quite a shock, but it sounds like you are taking a positive approach. Wishing you all the best on your journey! :)
  • angcharmil
    angcharmil Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Hi Hang in there , last year I got my sugars down from 28 to 6.2 , have had a lot of stress this year and Iam now doing it all again , I too work as a teacher ... would love to support you and bounce ideas of each other :smile: :
  • inneedofanap
    inneedofanap Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    Sorry you're dealing with this. I've been diagnosed with Metabolic Syndrome that includes pre-diabetes. I'm having my A1C drawn Monday. Keeping my fingers crossed. Getting your weight down, as I'm sure you know, should be your best chance at keeping your disease in check. Good luck to you!
  • Nomoremrbigguy
    Nomoremrbigguy Posts: 16 Member
    Options