Running Question

Options
Hello, all. I hope you can provide me with some perspective to this problem I am having.

I have been running for a couple of months now, using the c25k app, repeating some weeks when necessary. About a month ago, I finally managed to run 2.5-ish miles without stopping at all and I did that for quite a few times.

However, since last Monday, I have not been able to run past 1.5 miles. It's like I am out of breath and really tired. Feels more as if I am a complete novice to running rather than I have been running for some months.

At first I thought maybe it's just a bad day but this has been going on for 4 runs.

Has anyone experienced this before? Care to share how you overcome it? Any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• SonicDeathMonkey80
    SonicDeathMonkey80 Posts: 4,489 Member
    Options
    What dd your paces for the 2.5 miles look like when compared to the runs you are struggling with now?
  • iRun_Butterfly
    iRun_Butterfly Posts: 483 Member
    Options
    Have you increased your speed at all? Changed your diet significantly? I would suggest slowing down a little. I've hit points like that since I've started running. I'll have a great run, then for a few days or even a couple weeks, will just feel like I'm just dragging. I've noticed if I let my body rest a little, slow down a little, that seems to help.
  • witsend79
    witsend79 Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    Sounds like you've got a mental block now. You're totally capable of running that distance, don't let your brain talk you out of it.

Set out slower, pick a route you like and keep reminding yourself that you can do it. There is absolutely no reason for stopping until the end, you've just got to remind your brain of that!
  • runningforicecream
    Options
    The paces are relatively similar. I am a slow runner and when I was doing 2.5/.75 I was at around 11.30 (average) per mile. Today's 13.03/mile, last Friday's 12.22.
  • SonicDeathMonkey80
    Options