Carnivore going to try the Veggie path :-)

Options
I've been chuckling to myself as I have been reading through some of the posts on this board... At risk of re-heating a fairly fiery debate, I thought I'd share my experience.

I'm a pretty die-hard meat eater... Love my meat... all types.

Well I read Collin Campbell's book The China Study and I found it pretty compelling. I'm not a scientist, but I was pretty persuaded by the journey that the author has taken in his research. Persuaded enough to give up meat. Yes, just over 1 week ago I stopped eating meat... and dairy.

Now before everybody points me to the criticisms of the book, save your breath... I've read them... and I've read Campbell's responses... It is not going to change my mind to try life as a Veggie and see how I feel.

I'm still deciding on whether I'll eat fish or not. (I love fish).

I'm recording my diet for a couple of weeks, then I plan on meeting with a nutritionalist to analyze my diet and get their advice.

Now here's the interesting thing. 1 week in and I'm not really missing meat. I'm finding some really yummy recipes and I'm enjoying experimenting with food. So all I can say is so far so good. If any other meat eaters have ditched meat and have any words of wisdom or favorite recipes.... Please share.

I have to say, I'm feeling great and I've been losing weight.... Viva la Veggie!!!

:-)

Brent

Replies

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    O.K. as long as we are clear about Campbell : )
    Most of the time I eat vegetarian. Once a week or two I have some chicken.
    I notice sometimes that I am not getting enough oils, so I increase fat/oil.
    I have noticed that when people change their diets and do well, they do not miss the old . . . except for the smells.
    The smell of certain foods can bring people back to fond memories of past good meals.

Joel Furhman has good recipes: