Is a 12 minute mile too slow?

Options

Replies

• Lauriej0426
    Options
    I have been running for a few months now. I run 5 miles and average an 11 minute mile. Maybe it is slow but, to be able to run the whole time I have set a slower pace. So 12 min is fine. Just keep up the running!! Great job!!!
  • Elsie_Brownraisin
    Elsie_Brownraisin Posts: 786 Member
    Options
    Nope, it's about my pace now. But the first time I did 5k without stopping last year, it took me over 40 minutes.

There's no point comparing yourself to other people; my husband is a long distance runner and when racing runs about a 6 min mile, yet he often tells me that he's far from the fastest at his running group. There's always someone faster, except, as others have pointed out, those on their backsides.
  • uconnwinsnc
    uconnwinsnc Posts: 1,054 Member
    Options
    Well you said you are a beginner, so of course it isn't slow. If you have been doing it for a long time, then yeah a 12 minute mile is slow as heck. It really depends on your physical ability and your overall level.

Don't bother comparing your time to other people's times.
  • Runner5AbelTownship
    Runner5AbelTownship Posts: 243 Member
    Options
    Too slow for what?

Als what distance runner runs a 6 minute mile? I mean, how much distance is that?

I middle of the road trail runner can do fine at 17 min miles about and I'm thrilled to run a marathon at a 15 minute mile pace at this point, actually, I have no desire to go faster. Faster isn't really better unless you are competing.
  • Raasy
    Raasy Posts: 972 Member
    Options
    OMG NO!! I would kill to be able to maintain a 12 minute mile pace. I am a slow runner and am lucky if I can maintain a 15 minute mile consistently. That is awesome!!! You should not compare yourself to others, we are all built differently and have different conditioning.
    Just keep going and you will eventually get better / faster!!
  • kaotik26
    kaotik26 Posts: 590 Member