Your doctor is a lying liar pants!

Options

Replies

• dakotababy
    dakotababy Posts: 2,406 Member
    Options
    I work in a hospital - I am around nurses and doctors often. The primary doctor in our unit had bypass....then gained all his weight back and then some.

...yeah. Canada's medical system is kind of silly.

I probably should not generalize doctors, I guess the point being is that Doctors are hard to come by...and it is as if as long as an individual has slightly more knowledge than most then they can call themselves a Doctor. They work is many different units with many different kinds of patients. I dont even know if they are required to get specific up to date certificates for things like nutrition. They could be spewing out suggestions from the 1980's for all I know.

Did you know - Some doctors still do not think being 100% alcohol free during pregnancy is necessary! Some doctors actually still say a glass of wine or whatever is fine while pregnant (in the city I live in)

Always always always do your own research, challenge the doctor if there is contradictions and when in any doubt get a 2nd opinion. Doctors are way over rated and their suggestions are often taken as words of god.
  • Jus because they didn't sit through a lot of class time doesn't mean they know next to nothing about nutrition. Maybe they learned through their own reading or from life experiences. It's not rocket science. For every one story about a doctor who "knows nothing", maybe there are 5 more about doctors who helped people get their *kitten* together. You just don't read about that here because it's not attention grabbing enough for the forums.
    There are a lot generalizations in this thread.
  • I work in a hospital - I am around nurses and doctors often. The primary doctor in our unit had bypass....then gained all his weight back and then some.

...yeah. Canada's medical system is kind of silly.

That is the king of generalizations.
  • earlnabby