Fit Bit

Options
Can someone please explain the "fitbit" to me? We are thinking of buying one because I see a lot of people on this site referring to it, but I'm not really sure how it works! Help me out please! Thanks!

Replies

• Flookbird
    Flookbird Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    Fitbit encompasses a number of different products, one of which is the 'fitbit flex' which I will describe!

First off, visit the fitbit website, which will give you loads of info. (Other activity trackers are also available)

I bought my flex when I had lost 60lbs and was beginning to move towards maintenance. I knew from these boards how important being active is to maintaining a healthy weight. Note the difference between 'being active' and 'lifting heavy'!

Apparently the recommended daily steps are 10k. The flex helped me see how close to 10k I was initially. I was on holiday from work (I'm a teacher) so had to go out for walks to get my 10k in. Now I'm back at work I'm at almost 10k before I leave school! (my MFP account is set as sedentary so anything above my 'sedentary' calorie burn is added back to MFP by fit as the 2 accounts are synced).

I don't eat all of my fitbit calorie burn but I eat some and I'm still losing. With less than 10lbs to go and still losing 1-1.5lbs a week I'm thinking I should probably eat them all!

I track all food and additional exercise (ie swimming) on MFP. This syncs to fitbit.

I find that fitbit gives me a. A more realistic, less generalised daily calorie expenditure than I'd get from an algorithm based on a typical day. And b. Gives me a clearer overview of what I've done/eaten/burned than MFP would. I love data so have the premium subscription to help me track stuff.

I also suffer with hallucinations at night resulting in poor sleep so the flex has helped me to track that and spot triggers.

I wouldn't be without mine now! Good luck!
  • jsandie76
    jsandie76 Posts: 201 Member
    Options
    Hi there