Weighing food = eating disorder

Options
At least according to my family.

I've been losing weight for 11 months, and in that time I have developed a problem that is the opposite of what most people have. I overestimate instead of underestimate.

Which means if I don't meassure, I think I'm eating 1600 when really I'm eating more like 1000.

Now because I want to be well nourished, I weigh my food...and this reaps all sorts of snide comments from my family.

"Look she's got her scale again..."
"She's gonna gain it all back."
"We really need to get you to a therapist soon..."
"She's gonna go into starvation mode and look like an anorexic"
"Are you allowed to eat that on your diet? I'd better take that from you..." **takes ice cream and hides under the bed...**

Sorry bit of a rant. I'm just wondering how the heck I'm supposed to be sure I eat enough without meassuring..... :-/

Replies

• libbydoodle11
    libbydoodle11 Posts: 1,351 Member
    Options
    The food police will always be around. Explain to them what you have explained to us. Let them know that you need to weigh out your food so that you have a better understanding of your calorie intake. Stand up for yourself and be firm if you have to.
  • coolraul07
    coolraul07 Posts: 1,606 Member
    Options
    The food police will always be around. Explain to them what you have explained to us. Let them know that you need to weigh out your food so that you have a better understanding of your calorie intake. Stand up for yourself and be firm if you have to.
    ^^This... OR you could just say "EFF all ya'll! I know what I'm doing!" and fork-up the next person that tries to take food from you.
  • spideywebb77
    spideywebb77 Posts: 126 Member
    Options
    No one ever would take food from me....... :noway:

Yeah I get the " so what don't you eat now?" stuff all the time. I love the confused looks when I say nothing is off limits.
  • TheKingsChampion
    Options