I Do Not Think My Calories Burned Is Correct..Need Advice

Options
I am new to MFP...but not new to losing weight. Over the period of 2011-2013 I lost 160lbs. I started gaining weight back when I was sick last year ..then Christmas...then I was just out of control. So I gained 36lbs. That is when I found MFP. I have been tracking my food and exercise for 11 days. I lost 4 lbs in 5 days. Then today I got on the scale and I was up to my beginning weight which is 236. I am 53 and disabled but I stay very busy in mornings on the weekdays. I take silver sneakers classes at my local JCC. On Mon I take 3 hour long classes...chair yoga...we only sit for 5 min. at the beginning and the end. Then I take a strength and resistance class where we do cardio...resistance bands and weights. Next I take tai chi. On Tues. and Thurs. I take stretch class and water aerobics classes...both 1 hour long. Wed. are like Mon. Minus the tai chi. Fri is like Mon. minus the chair yoga. I have just begun to use the gym on the weekends. I ride the bike and walk on the treadmill. But the gym equipment shows I only burn around 150 calories..where the MFP data base says around 500 calories burned. I have stayed under my 1610 allowed calories every day except for yesterday. So am I eating too much? I am not running...doing crossfit classes..or doing anything else I see other people doing..I can't. I have physical limitations. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Replies

• Liftng4Lis
    Liftng4Lis Posts: 15,150 Member
    Options
    Go with the lower as far as calories burned and make sure you only eat half back. Remember weigh loss comes from the caloric deficit so you want to weigh and measure all food.
  • oksanatkachuk
    oksanatkachuk Posts: 149 Member
    Options
    Difficult one.. I d suggest to pick up cal goal, eat that for 2 weeks and see how it do. On that adjust plus or minus.
  • binterla
    binterla Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Thanks..what I was thinking
  • binterla