HELP please.... Goal cals vs. Net calories.

Options
Ok I'm having issues here. I tried goggling and got an array of answer so I am going to post and ask. I see where people say not to go under 1200 calories a day. My goal calories are 1400. Now, I rarely get a "good" workout in but today I did. So even though I have eaten 1300 calories my "net" calories are at about 980. Do I need to eat more so that my NET is at 1200 or am I ok because I CONSUMED 1300. I hope you get what I'm asking. Basically should I worry about my consumed calories being over 1200 or my actual net being over 1200. Someone help. I'm new at this and don't want to make myself lose momentum from not eating enough or eating too much. Thanks in advance!

Replies

• hotllamarama
    hotllamarama Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    from my understanding.. your net calories is technically what you've eaten after burning so much. so that's why they give you extra calories to eat. if you burn calories, you have to eat to make up for them.

example you've eaten 1200 calories, burned 400 in exercise, which leaves you with 800 net calories. you want to eat that 400 to get back up to 1200. :)

hope i didn't make it confusing. :D

others are welcome to input.
  • trixieflow
    trixieflow Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    to the best of my knowledge - the answer is yes. i have struggled w/this question over and over until it was put to me like this:
    if you eat 1200 cals - burn 600 cals = net of 600cals that your body is running off of. (not enough)
    if you eat 1800 cals - burn 600 cals = net of 1200 cals (or whatever your goal is) and that is healthy for your chosen weight loss.

i hope that makes sense. the lightbulb went off for me with this answer.
    best of luck!
  • AydensMom528
    Options
    hrmm that's what i was afraid of lol. It almost discourages me from working out because well I barely get in the 1400 already having to eat even more than that is challenging.
  • AydensMom528
    Options