calf pain

Options
I have been training for a mini for about 2 months. At the end of my first month during my walk/run I would have horrible pain on the inside upper part of my calf in between my bone and my muscle. It hurt so bad. I thought that it was shin splints. So I rested and iced and bengayed and wrapped my leg. Nothing helped my exercise partner suggested I go to the dr so I went and not shin splints and not stress fracture. But she did not know, so she told me to rest. Does anyone have any suggestions? Or ideas?

Replies

• skinnyme125
    skinnyme125 Posts: 396 Member
    Options
    eat lots of Bananas and keep hydrated. might try eating lots of oranges also for the lactic acid. That helps to get rid of leg cramps as well. I used to get the same thing when I was on the track team in High school and this is what I would do and it always seemed to help. HOPE THIS WORKS FOR YOU>
  • liscar
    liscar Posts: 311 Member
    Options
    is it right along your shin bone? That's where I have a muscle that's sensitive --- I pulled it about a year ago and it even hurt to step, pretty much the only thing that works is lots of stretching and ice after any exercise. There are times when I start to run and recognize the pain, so I walk instead. Also, wear compression socks when you run - that made a huge difference too.
  • AMBrody
    Options
    I would go to a sporting goods store and get wraps for your calves. I bought two at ****'s sporting goods. They velcro around your leg while you exercise. Take your drs. advice and rest it for a few weeks.
  • SaraSwanson25
    Options