Cutting out 500 cal a day ... good plan?

Options
Currently here are my stats:
Height: 6'1
Starting Weight: 287
Current Weight: 281.5

Started at the first of this year.

According to the app, I should consume 1900 calories a day. I want to help myself loss weight faster without going into 'starvation mode'. I also work out, although I only got to go to the gym once last week; I typically do about an hour on the treadmill and (according to nike plus) burn 750-850 calories.

So what I was thinking was this:
On days I do not work out: consume 1400 calories (500 less).
On days I do work out: consume around normal amount (1900). Just don't tap into workout calories.

Would this be a good idea?

Replies

• desireeanne
    Options
    i aim to consume 1200 a day but most days i dont get to that
  • smitty328
    smitty328 Posts: 164 Member
    Options
    I think that sounds like a good idea!!! But I am no expert either!=)
  • magenta4c
    magenta4c Posts: 53 Member
    Options
    just spoke to a friend who is a personal trainer. he told me never to go under 1200 cals as it will eat your muscle mass because it is energy your body needs for vital functions.

i am on a plateau at the moment for 6 weeks because i didn't eat enough on workout days.
  • ratkaj
    ratkaj Posts: 166 Member
    Options
    you might want to consult a dietitian. It really isn't as simple as saying i'm going to eat less... your body has needs and by eating 500 less than what is recommended you might be falling short and sending yourself into starvation mode. Each person is different but you might be surprised by what he/she would have to say.
  • bzmom
    bzmom Posts: 1,332 Member
    Options
    I thing that sounds good too. However Im not an expert either.
  • ratkaj
    ratkaj Posts: 166 Member
    Options
    i aim to consume 1200 a day but most days i dont get to that