New soon-to-be grad student looking for friends!

Options
Hello!

I am two years out of my undergrad years and I am STILL trying to get off my freshman/sophomore weight. I went into school weighing 115 and came out weighing 150. I'm 5'3, so this makes me a little, er... thick? I don't want to get back to 115, but hitting 130 would definitely be nice. Right now I'm a corporate trainer, but in a few months I will be a graduate student studying/living/working on campus. I'll be running a dorm and one of the perks is that I will have a free meal plan. The downside is that cafeteria food is what got me in this slump in the first place. I am going to try to avoid weight gain by avoiding the cafeteria and cooking my own meals. I will also have access to the campus gym and a really nice nearby walking trail, so that's a huge plus. In the past I haven't been very active, but since joining this website, I've realized plugging in everything I do and seeing the math is a huge motivator. (10 miles of walking in two days, baby!)

Here is my dilemna-- I am great with calorie counting when it comes to things that are prepackaged, so I've been eating 100 cal cottage cheese cups, greek yogurt, etc. When I cook for myself though, I have trouble figuring out portions/calories, etc. I am looking into the Hungry Girl recipes, but I don't know if I can get all of those ingredients at a campus market.

I am looking for friends of all kinds, but any of you that have any good low cal recipes with easy to measure/find ingredients would be amazing, and any of you that are students or grad students would also be great!

While I'm a Resident Director, I'm going to try to strike up a healthy eating challenge for the residents of my dorm... so anyone with any ideas for that, please shoot them my way!

Thanks,

MsB

Replies

• pouka89
    pouka89 Posts: 24
    Options
    Hello! I am new here too and need friends for support! Feel free to add me as a friend!

Good luck :D
  • monylove311