Earned calories for exercising

Options
When you earn calories for exercising, should you try to eat them all or is it okay to stay under? I understand that I need to fuel my body for the exercise but consuming upwards of 2000 calories seems high. Can someone enlighten me?!

Replies

• Dippydog
    Dippydog Posts: 154
    Options
    I try not to because I want to lose weight and it doesn't seem right to exercise and then eat back what you excercised. But I am no professiona, but this is what I am doing.
  • astovey
    astovey Posts: 578 Member
    Options
    I usually don't just because I'm not positive baout how much I'm burning. I'm going to get a HRM soon so I will feel more comfortable eating some of those cals back. Sometimes I think people overestimate how much they are burning so they can eat a whole bunch of food that isn't any good for them.
  • meggonkgonk
    meggonkgonk Posts: 2,066 Member
    Options
    I try not to because I want to lose weight and it doesn't seem right to exercise and then eat back what you excercised. But I am no professiona, but this is what I am doing.

You should try to eat these calories, (as healthily as possible). It's all based on how MFP is set up (it incorporates a deficit for you BEFORE working out):

MFP works a bit differently than most calorie/point counters. Most nutrition plans incorporate workouts into your overall activity level- ie I have a desk job, but if I workout 5 days a week most plans would put me at "lightly active". This would figure into my daily calorie goal - so most nutritionists would probably recommend that I eat 1500-1800 calories everyday, regardless of my workout. MFP has you manually account for specific workouts or anything outside your normal level of activity, so you get a lower "starting goal" everyday (so you continue to lose regardless of whether or not you workout), but when you workout more, you should be eating more.