Who has done this on their own? HELP!

Options
I am not a weight loss surgery hater…but I would love to meet some people out there who have managed to lose 50lbs on their own by diet and exercise. I see some pretty large numbers being met and with so many people having bariatric surgery these days, its hard to tell if some of those numbers are from weight loss surgery or from really dedicated weightlossers (yes it’s a word I made up)...I am a little down on myself thinking I can not do this on my own. I work in the medical field, in a very heavy weighted populated area, I am far from a lapband-stomach staple-gastric bypass hater…I’m glad the option is there for people…it’s truly life saving…I have seen it first hand. But for those of us who do not qualify and who do need change their lifestyle on their own …I would love some words of encouragement that this can be done by ME. By changing my diet, by working out 30 minutes to an hour EVERYDAY. I have made great strides and changes since 1-9-11...I just hope I’m on the right track. I feel like I can do more…or suppose to do more to drop 30 more lbs in the last three months I have been at this.

Any help, suggestions, words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• JenniferO1982
    JenniferO1982 Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I have lost 80 pounds. My secret? Diet and exercise:)
  • SheliaN1960
    SheliaN1960 Posts: 454 Member
    Options
    Hi! I am only on 40 and I lost before I got here! No, meds, no surgery, no quick fixes. Sometimes it seemed super slow. So slow in fact I stopped weighing and started measuring! I wish you all the best and there are some great inspirations on here!!
  • SheliaN1960
    SheliaN1960 Posts: 454 Member
    Options
    Jennifer, that is the best advice you can give her!!!
  • VialOfDreams
    Options
    90lbs in 9 months with a change of lifestyle, which includes healthy eating and exercise. That's it. You can do it too! :heart:
  • shallo