Any recovering addicts here?

Options
I'm just going to put this out there....My name is Angela and I am a recovering addict. I became addicted to pain medication (opiates) and anit-anxiety medication (Valium, Xanax) in 1987. I used for 21 years. In the end, I lost everything...my home, my marriage, my relationship with my kids, my belongings, my dignity, morals and pride. My son drove me to rehab in September of 2007 and I haven't looked back since. I have 3 years clean now! My marriage has been restored as well as my relationship with my children. I also have a place of my own and a my own car now. I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in August of last year.

Here is what I want to discuss...I know I was addicted to prescription drugs. Now that I do not use any more I have separated from the drugs 100 percent. There is no safe way to "use just a little bit" or "use the right way". Stopping means stopping. However, with food addiction it is different. I can live without drugs....but I can't live without food. I find it really hard to need the very thing I am addicted to sustain life. Does this make sense? I do pretty good on most days, but I do have cravings and temptations I have to fight off, just like I did when I first got clean off the drugs. Applying some of the same principles to my food addiction (12-step programs) has helped. I truly believe an addiction is an addiction. I just wanted to talk to some people that can relate with where I am in life right now. There is power in numbers.

Thanks in advance,

Angela:flowerforyou:

Replies

• lovebyrd17
    Options