EMS or FIRE

This is out there to help those in a life saving position to get healthier through others that share the same hectic schedule. Here to provide encouragement.

Replies

• crykmprs
    crykmprs Posts: 16 Member
    I need help with motivation. As a Paramedic I need to be healthy for my job and right now that is just not happening. I am also worried about back problems that can come from this overweight lifestyle as this is the number one reason we have to get out of this job.
  • MegJo
    MegJo Posts: 398 Member
    I'm a dispatcher for both plus police. The schedule and stress can be crazy at times. I work 3rd shift and it took a while to get my eating and exercising on a schedule that worked!
  • crykmprs
    Depending which town or county I am with at the moment depends on my shifts. Right now I am on a rotating three week schedule with 2 other medics. Which includes being in ER from 7a to 7p but being on pager for 7p to 7a. Minimum of a 24 hour shift and sometimes is a 48.
  • MegJo
    We're stuck on 3rd shift until the more vetern dispatchers retire haha - and they're holding on strong! We work 10hour shifts with basically no breaks. We eat at our terminals and typically have to eat very fast for fear of the next call.

Thankfully our terminals can go up and down so we have the choice to sit or stand. I'm envious that you at least get to move and walk around as an EMT! Although I imagine bringing healthy homecooked food from home is tough in that job because you're on the road a lot - must be tempting to just stop and get takeout
  • crykmprs
    Specially the Interfacility transfers. A make it quick type of food run. I have at least cut out soda completly