Confessions of a binge eater

Options
So I figured if I'm really going to try to lose weight, I need to admit to what I've been doing. And yes, that is binge eating. I'm studying abroad in Europe right now, and after already being overweight and having gained some weight, I have started to binge eat from stress. I've studied abroad before and not had a problem, but for some reason, this time I have started buying food left and right and eating it in secret. Loads of chocolate, chips, whatever. It's like an addiction...I feel guilty walking through the grocery store but I feel unable to stop myself. I don't even enjoy the food...it's almost like a punishment. Anyway, I know there is something psychologically wrong with that, but I want to try to right it. I think if I embrace a healthy lifestyle it will bring my stress down, and in turn I won't have the urge to binge eat anymore. I just wanted to join a place like this to keep myself accountable. It's always embarrassing to tell friends about my plans to diet and then I feel like more of a failure when it doesn't work out. I don't have the money for a gym membership but will be exercising in my room and I do a lot of walking anyway. I'm feeling pretty depressed about my actions and attitude towards food...it's gone from an object of pleasure to an addiction, and I need to change that drastically.

Otherwise, I'm 21, female, and actually pretty pleasant despite the desperation in this post :P

Replies

• Sanya77
    Sanya77 Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    Hi you are not alone. Sometimes I force myself to drink cold water to supress that binge.
  • janemartin02
    janemartin02 Posts: 2,653 Member
    Options
    HI!Realizing you have a problem and working to fix it is a BIG step.Little steps and changes will get you to eating healthier.Try to focus on having healthier foods available for you.Like might be a place to start.Try drinking more water.