Eat Before or After a Workout?

Options
Hello,

I'm still pretty new to MFP and to working out in general. I'm just curious, should you eat before or after you work out?

Any ideas?

Thanks for your help!

Replies

• niclagi
    niclagi Posts: 177 Member
    Options
    I eat something 30-60 mins before a strenuous workout and normally have some chocolate milk (good protein) after.
  • kimmerroze
    kimmerroze Posts: 1,330 Member
    Options
    Carbs before

Protein after.
  • HotSouthernMess
    HotSouthernMess Posts: 474 Member
    Options
    i will typically eat something with protein before i go to the gym like a pack of almonds and then when i get home i will eat my meal to refuel. but it also depends on what time i exercise. i would recommend if you can to eat something high in protein before exercise because you will burn it off during your workout anyway but it will keep you going!
  • naomimoan91
    Options
    Hello,

I'm still pretty new to MFP and to working out in general. I'm just curious, should you eat before or after you work out?

always eat at least an hour before a workout, especially if its an early morning workout, otherwise it can cause dizzy spells/ make you pass out/be sick...

as for eating afterwards.... i usually wait about half an hour at least really... unless i get something healthy to snack on such as carrots, celery etc....

hope this helps xx
  • KTCali
    KTCali Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    I eat after my workout, I find that if I eat before I feel too heavy when I work out...but I also do it first thing in the a.m. to make sure I get it out of the way. I also just read an article about this, here you go...
    :happy:

http://health.yahoo.net/experts/healthieryou/7-secrets-slim-people
  • funfitfoodie
    funfitfoodie Posts: 630 Member
    Options