What's your "shelf life" for clothes?

Options
2»

Replies

• Joannah700
    Joannah700 Posts: 2,665 Member
    Options
    For classic pieces - I keep it until it's no longer wearable and can't be repaired. I've had knit sweaters re-knitted if it's a good piece.

Trendy clothes? Sometimes a season, sometimes 3 years. Depends on how dated it looks. And if it's something that I realize was not flattering.
  • FauxFawkes
    FauxFawkes Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I donate a bag of clothing every Christmas and Spring, and replenish with consignment sale buys! I've been wearing some of my clothes since 8th grade (7 years), and I bought a new shirt yesterday.

It really depends on the type. I keep jeans until they're beat, cut them into shorts, and once they're threadbare I lose them. I never get rid of overwear (jackets, sweaters, etc). I keep my t-shirts as long as I still dig them (so, I've had an Iron Man shirt for a few years, and a Supernatural shirt for 5, but got rid of a butterfly print one after a season).

Consignment sales make it easy, though - I buy new (used) clothes, then give them back, make a little cash, buy new (used) clothes... a full wardrobe could net at $50 or less! As long as you're not financially threatened, out with the old, in with the new! Both cleansing and replenishing are super refreshing :)
  • FauxFawkes
    FauxFawkes Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    (Also with primal warrior - if it's been in the closet all year, and I'm trying to convince myself I need it, I try to let it go.)
  • Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,575 Member
    Options
    I think it would be the point where I thought I was sick to death of the item. Which may be never. I wear clothes that I've had for more than 2 decades.
  • chele402
    chele402 Posts: 128 Member
    Options