black girls workout too

Options
I have started week 2 of black girls workout too and I lost 7 pounds. But when I weighed 4 days ago I lost 2 pounds, then yesterday I weighed and gained 4 pounds back. brown rice, cabbage soup, steamed veggies, fruit, yogurt are all I been eating. I have been following the maealplan completely. I have been consuming around 600-800 calories a day according to my calorie counter. I'm not sure what happened. I'm new to working out. I was told that I consumed too few calories each day. But I honestly did not feel hungry because I drank 8 glasses of water each day. Help me please. Was this water weight or did my body go into starvation mode. I'm 5'2 and 300lb female if that helps.

Replies

• AliceDark
    AliceDark Posts: 3,886 Member
    Options
    A few things...

1. The 7 pounds you lost was water weight
    2. Starvation mode doesn't exist
    3. You absolutely need to be eating more than 600-800 calories. How many does MFP give you? I'm guessing in the 1800-2000 range? Eat that.
    4. When you start a new workout program, you retain water. Everyone does. Give it 3-4 weeks to calm down.
    5. Everyone's weight fluctuates from day to day. It can fluctuate up to 10 pounds or so, depending on a lot of variables (TOM, your starting weight, what you ate yesterday, how recently you went to the bathroom, etc.). You don't actually weigh 300 pounds from day to day; you weigh in the range of 295-305 or thereabouts. Most people don't weigh themselves on a regular basis before they start trying to lose weight, so they don't know that they fluctuate and they freak out when they start seeing it on the scale. Again, give it 3-4 weeks, track your fluctuations and get to know your body's patterns.
  • Jaimz2k
    Options