How do you loose a few pounds without loosing muscle?

Options
SavanaNicole
SavanaNicole Posts: 31
edited November 2014 in Health and Weight Loss
I'm really new to building muscle, but I started working out my arms recently to tone them and replace the flab with muscle. I've been roughly the same weight for about 3 years, but I think my pants seem a tiny bit tighter than usual so I wonder how would I loose some weight to fit better in my jeans(only about 3-5 pounds) without touching my precious arm muscles. I'm so confused! Do I calorie count? Do I just eat healthier foods like fruits and vegetables and keep taking protein? I pretty much eat whatever I want and I take some whey protein powder every other day when I work out, but the only way I know how to loose weight is calorie counting, but that was before I started building muscle.

Replies

• AliceDark
    AliceDark Posts: 3,886 Member
    Options
    Lose slowly, keep your protein intake up, and keep lifting while you're losing. Aim for around 0.5 pounds per week.
  • SavanaNicole
    Options
    AliceDark wrote: »
    Lose slowly, keep your protein intake up, and keep lifting while you're losing. Aim for around 0.5 pounds per week.
    It sounds terrifyingly dangerous.

• SpecialSundae
    SpecialSundae Posts: 795 Member
    Options
    In what way does that sound dangerous? Lift heavy things, eat protein, lose weight slowly... all pretty straight-forward.
  • SavanaNicole
    Options
    In what way does that sound dangerous? Lift heavy things, eat protein, lose weight slowly... all pretty straight-forward.
    Because she said "slowly," which sounds to me if I loose it too fast my muscle will start to leave me. :(
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options

Nope. Lifting while you lose will help retain the muscle you already have. As long as you aren't progressing way too fast with the weight, you'll be good.
  • ana3067
    ana3067 Posts: 5,623 Member
    Options