calories high or low

Options
Hi everyone, I am new to mfp and I do have a question. The app tells me to eat 1200 calories per day, but some people at the gym are telling me to eat 1900 calories. So I am so confused. I started at 1200 ad now have increased to 1500. I also have a fitbit, and do aerobics 3xweek.
My scale has not moved at all, and it is frustrating. I do feel better but need to see results soon. Any help is welcomed.
Sarah

Replies

• Patttience
    Patttience Posts: 975 Member
    Options
    I don't understand why everyone arrives at this 1200 number. I never did.

What sort of things are you entering into the calculator. You are entering wrong things into it that's for sure.

I started my diet on 1650 a day and i wasn't even doing any exercise. I had about 40 pounds to lose.
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    Options
    How long have you been dieting?

You will need to provide age, height and weight for the other posters or to check what your miantenqnce calories are.

You then need to tell us how much you wish to lose per week. You deduct 500 calories from maintenance for every 1lb of weight of weight per week. That gives you the target without taking exercise into consideration.

Its very importnat to keep to that deficit and it requires logging your food accurately. the most common problem is people underestimating the amount they eat or not recording properly. Its most likely you are eating moe thna you think and are closer to maintenance i.e no weight loss because you are eating what your body needs to burn each day.

Getting a set of kitchen scales will help you be more accurate in making sure you are at deficit.

In terms of exercise then eat either 50% or none of those calories back and keep checking and adjusting. 3x a week is good, but you need to brun 3500 calories to lose 1lb and thats a lot of exercise. About 80% is really about diet and not exercise which has other benefits.