Body Recomposition

Options
I'm new to this idea. People with info, please share!
I've had a lot of people on here tell me to look into body recomposition.
I have no idea how I want to go about that, especially since things like squats, crunches, and weight-lifting feel boring and unsatasfactory.
Something more along the lines of yoga, seems like a better approach.
What has been most successful for you?

Replies

• TiberiusClaudis
    TiberiusClaudis Posts: 423 Member
    Options
    Not saying you can't do yoga to recomp but not really the correct tools for the job. Think of your body as clay. To add clay, you need to weightlift plus calorie surplus ...to take away, you need to weightlift and/or cardio and be in a calorie deficient to lose. More or less. I'd recommend finding a lifting partner if things seem boring. For cardio...you many want to try a group activity jogging club, zumba, swimming?
  • jdhcm2006
    jdhcm2006 Posts: 2,254 Member
    edited December 2014
    Options
    I'm still working on losing, but I believe that body recomp comes from weight training. Lifting will probably get you there faster, but bodyweight training can work as well. I'm taking the bodyweight training approach b/c going to the gym doesn't fit in my schedule and I don't have the space to have a rack or anything else that goes with lifting heavy.

I'm not sure if yoga will do it. Check out "Your Are Your Own Gym" if you want to go more the bodyweight training method.
  • jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    Are you trying to reach a goal, i.e. a certain look, weight, body fat %, etc? Or are you trying to have fun?

If the first, then do what you need to do to reach the goal, which is traditionally heavy lifting and HIIT. If the latter, do whatever you enjoy and have fun with your exercise.
  • eversmj
    Options
    things like squats, crunches, and weight-lifting feel boring and unsatasfactory