Keeping sugar and sodium low

Options
I'm on a 1200 calorie diet. I don't add sugar or salt to my meals but I'm constantly going over my intake limit. My sugar limit is set at 45 grams and my sodium limit is set at 2300 mg. but I take 90 - 120 grams and 2500 - 2700 mg. I eat too many fruit as well as a daily instant soup or home made soups with stock cubes. I just started learning about nutrition and need help... Am I being unhealthy? Should I be concerned? Thanks!

Replies

• _benjammin
    _benjammin Posts: 1,224 Member
    Options
    The only thing that may be unhealthy is eating too little and trying to lose too fast.
    You do not need to be concerned with sugar or sodium unless directed by a doctor. There's no such thing as eating too much fruit if you are meeting you macro and micro nutrient goals.
  • mariaoutlook
    Options
    Benjamin, thanks for your message. I'm not obsessed with numbers. If fact, I weigh myself every 2 weeks. I read that salt makes people retain water and I wasn't sure if I was being unhealthy.
  • GaleHawkins
    GaleHawkins Posts: 8,159 Member
    Options
    benjammin makes a good point. I know at first with all of the info overload that can come from others it is natural to 'over think' our eating lifestyles. Computer generated numbers are starting points not necessarily END points. :)

When you are in Memphis and want to get to Chicago Go North is good advice at the time but if you Go North until you get to WI and keep going north you will be in Canada.

Google and read then do more of the same. Your BS detector will improve as you keep researching. If you can not find articles and research that backs up personal opinion like I am typing at this moment do not listen to forum info like am typing now. :)