Breakfast for a Working Person

Options

Replies

• MlleKelly
    MlleKelly Posts: 356 Member
    Options
    My sister taught me about "No-atmeal", which is quick, delicious, and healthy:

Crack one egg into a microwave-safe bowl. Mash up one banana, add a big spoonful of some kind of nut butter (almond butter is lovely) and mix it up really well with the egg. Microwave at 30 second intervals for 2-2:30, stirring between each interval. It looks like oatmeal, has the consistency of oatmeal (no joke), and is really tasty. Full of protein and healthy fats! Add some cinnamon or a teaspoon of vanilla extract for a bit of a sweeter breakfast.

I'm a teacher, so I feel you about not wanting to wake up any earlier than usual. I'm out the door by 6:15 and I sleep until 5:45, so I cram everything into that 30 minutes to get ready, eat, and go. I'm a fan of toast or a bagel with some peanut butter or cream cheese, Greek yogurt and a glass of orange juice, a protein shake and a piece of fruit, or even a classic bowl of cereal. If I'm not feeling super rushed or if I know I have a few extra minutes because there's not much I need to do before classes, I'll make regular instant oatmeal or my sister's No-atmeal.

Good luck. Mornings are a b-word.
  • kmbweber2014
    kmbweber2014 Posts: 680 Member
    Options
    I hard boil a bunch of eggs on the weekend then grab one and a piece of toast and eat that for breakfast quite a bit.
  • Adaniel65
    Adaniel65 Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    My general breakfast is... in a blender mix 1C. silk milk, frozen fruit and some protein powder. This takes me about 3 minutes from pulling everything out and putting everything back away. I drink it on my commute. If you don't want the protein powder use a banana for extra body and nutrition. I also make various baked eggs for the week and those will reheat in less than 30 seconds (I used them for lunches).
  • JustSomeEm
    JustSomeEm Posts: 20,217 MFP Moderator
    Options