Want to start lifting...BUT....

Options
groversa
groversa Posts: 450 Member
edited November 2023 in Fitness and Exercise
I have a exercise room at my apartment and it has a weight machine that I do use, but I know it is better to do free weights. I want to start lifting as my main work out but don't know where to start. I need to find a gym and will most likely go with a cheaper one because I'm a poor college student, but I know I'm going to be scared from that point on. Everyone cracks jokes when people aren't lifting accurately, well, I've never done it so I won't know what I'm doing. I don't have money for a personal trainer and don't have many friends who would be willing to help. Advice please?

Replies

• Krueger92
    Krueger92 Posts: 109 Member
    Options
    If you go to a gym, just ask somebody else whos lifting. It happens to me almost everyday right now during busy season. Most wont mind, and love helping people!
  • Fit_4_life_502
    Options
    I know what you mean, I did not know where to start and was self conscious lifting in the gym. Lucky for me I met my boyfriend a personal trainer and bodybuilder who helped teach me how to lift properly. Form is very important, so I suggest watching fitness model videos on YouTube to get down form. I have also attached my transformation pics to show why lifting is so important.953ms3nt5i5c.jpg
    a5g0iol4j97o.jpg
    37haaxlln8lj.jpg
    skaqjtwrzcfs.jpg
    7t6jh4qdpzce.jpg
    9raswnwwigsy.jpg
    m1az91gpx1x8.jpg
    groversa wrote: »