Suffering from depression and could use some support:)

Options
I just rejoined the myfitnesspal community under this new username after being absent for a few months. Anyways, here's the skinny (get it??) on me: I'm 24, I moved from Norway to Australia a couple of years ago and I'm currently a student doing a bachelor of psychology. I've struggled with my weight all my life, and it was pretty much at an all time high when I moved to Australia (275 lbs/124 kg). I lost nearly 55 lbs/25 kg my first few months here through a mysterious drop in my appetite, but I have gained well over half of that back now. I have also been struggling with major depression for over a decade, but I was only diagnosed about a year ago and I am having a really difficult time not giving into my illness.

So I would really like to get in touch with other MFPers who either suffer from depression, anxiety, or just want somebody to talk to. I'm not looking to have tons of friends on here, but I'm really hoping to meet at least a few people I can have a genuine connection with.

Replies

• Anahita_Swims
    Anahita_Swims Posts: 4,127 Member
    Options
    IM currently signed off work with depression :neutral_face:
  • ssssuperkate
    Options
    I suffer from depression & anxiety. I would be happy to have someone who understands as well. :smile:
  • OwlChick90
    OwlChick90 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I'm sorry to hear that :( How long have you been sick?
  • hazeldixon89
    hazeldixon89 Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    I know the feeling of going up and down in weight and the depression that can bring on. But what you have to remember and hold onto is that you lost it before and therefore you CAN lose it again! :D