Advice on Getting Up for AM Workouts?!?

Options
13»

Replies

• jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    It took me a while to find something that moved me. Having a race to prepare for does it for me. I avoid pain. Being unprepared for a race is like.....SUPER painful. Not to mention embarrassing.
  • Freedm16
    Freedm16 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    The most helpful thing I've found is going to bed early to make sure I get 8-9 hours of sleep and having coffee set and ready to go in the AM :)
  • Sassiesue86
    Sassiesue86 Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I know if i eat a lite dinner and go to bed at reasonable time i am excited to get up and eat some breakfast! Hope that helps;)-chels
  • quiltermn
    quiltermn Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    chriscolh wrote: »
    I've been doing my workouts in the mornings for 6+ years now. I've made new friends at the gym that make it more fun to be there... even if it is 3 hours before the sun comes up...!
    I've been getting up at 5a.m. for the last 11 (6 of them as a retired person now) years, and driving 18 miles to work out. Am I a morning person, definitely not, but if I don't do it in the morning I don't do it at all. I set an alarm in the bathroom so I have to get up and walk out of the bedroom to turn it off. I get my things ready the night before. I've met some really great people and my 3 closest friends (2 also retired), ride herd on me if I don't show up for a few days. I also find if I say, "see you tomorrow" that's another motivation to make sure I'm there.
  • NoelFigart1
    NoelFigart1 Posts: 1,276 Member
    Options
    Honestly, the reason I workout in the morning is that's when lap swimming is scheduled in the pool. But I prefer to work out in the morning because I make too many excuses at night not to. So, it works for me. If you find you're less inclined to make excuses at the end of the day or after work or something, work out then.