Any nurses on here?

Options
Hello,

I am a registered nurse and I was wondering how other nurses stay on track with their weight loss? Working 12 hour shifts and not knowing if or when I will get a lunch break makes it had to plan my meals. If I eat a smaller breakfast then I will be starving for lunch, but if I can't get a break I am out of luck. But I also don't want to overeat breakfast in anticipation of not eating lunch. Any suggestions?

Thanks all!

Replies

• elphie754
    elphie754 Posts: 7,574 Member
    Options
    Hello,

I am a registered nurse and I was wondering how other nurses stay on track with their weight loss? Working 12 hour shifts and not knowing if or when I will get a lunch break makes it had to plan my meals. If I eat a smaller breakfast then I will be starving for lunch, but if I can't get a break I am out of luck. But I also don't want to overeat breakfast in anticipation of not eating lunch. Any suggestions?

Thanks all!

Hi. Not a nurse, but a medic so I also work 12 hour shifts. I have a cooler that I bring with me to work and I don't allow myself to eat anything else (mostly because of allergies). When I do get to eat, I make sure it is something with quite a bit of protein in case I don't get to eat again. I also bring things that I can eat in 1-2 minutes. That way, if we get hammered with jobs all shift, I have something I can quickly grab on the way to the call.
  • Nebrie
    Nebrie Posts: 56 Member
    Options
    LPN here. I'm off the floor now but when I was still working I was also on 12 hr shifts. Like Elphie I took a lunch box with me and packed it with protein dense food that I could shovel in my mouth in a few minutes. I've managed to chew down a protein bar on more than one occasion in the supply closet while gathering needed supplies.