Need Advice From the Runners Please!

Hello,
I started the C25K app a few months ago and finished...Yay! and then continued running. Everything has been fine, but last week in the middle of my run I got an extremely sharp pain behind on one of my knee caps. Now when I try and run both of my knees hurt. Question is what should I do? Should I take a break? Could this be a shoe problem? I just want a little advice because I'm new to this running thing and I don't want to make it worse.

Replies

• sjaplo
    sjaplo Posts: 974 Member
    http://physioworks.com.au/injuries-conditions-1/patellofemoral-kneecap-pain-syndrome

Could be this - you could be over pronating which would throw your gait out of balance. Perhaps check out a running store or physio to see if this is indeed the issue?
  • SergeantSausage
    SergeantSausage Posts: 1,673 Member
    I would take a 2 week break - no running or impact of any kind. If no better, try again for another 2 week break. If still no improvement, seek out a Doc specializing in Sport related medicine. Most family physicians will just tell you to stop running forever if they can't figure it out.

But that's just me. That's how I roll. Your mileage may vary ...
  • gnik1
    gnik1 Posts: 30
    Agree with sjaplo shoes make a huge difference.
  • higgins8283801
    higgins8283801 Posts: 844 Member
    I hurt my knee once and I jjst needed to take a 3 week break. It felt better and even though I had to rebuild up some endurance it hasn't bothered me since.