Smokers at the Gym :p RANT

Options
RNGRZulu
RNGRZulu Posts: 3,964 Member
edited January 2015 in Chit-Chat
Gotta say, I am cheering them on and hoping for the best. It must be horrible to be hooked on such a damaging habit.
Hopefully getting to the gym will help with quitting.

But, you're coming to the gym at 6:00am and you STINK of cigarettes. I don't know, maybe it's a cigar. Either way, you get on the treadmill next to me and I have to move to the other side of the room to escape the smell. That doesn't work. Soon the whole room smells like a bar.

So, I head to another part of the gym and finish up. Go to the locker room and...eeegad! It stinks like an ashtray in here!

Do you really have to smoke before you go to the gym or is that just leftover from the night before?

Sorry, it's nauseating and I'm pretty intolerant.

Replies

• blueeyesgrace
    blueeyesgrace Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    I can't say I've had this happen to me, yet, but I work in healthcare. We have patients who come in smelling like an ashtray. To the point where we have to "shut down" the patient room for a certain period of time so it can deodorize. The smell of smoke is an allergen that can potentially send someone into an asthma attack, so we have to be super careful with our other patients.

I understand it's a habit, an addiction. I understand addictions are hard to break. However, just as people who wear excessive fragrances, the smell of smoke (and even body odor) is something that affects other people.
  • RNGRZulu
    Options
    And I'm not subtle about showing how gross it smells.

Perfume...that would be the same, but usually only a problem in the afternoons. Not a the crack of dawn.

Other smells...B.O. - seriously dude, wash your shirt. In a spin class with the fan wafting your rank into everyone else's faces. Ugh.

Beyond that...lady, I know you're upping your protein, so I can't fault you too much.
  • Sinistrous
    Sinistrous Posts: 5,589 Member