Wanting "bland" Foods/Tastes Changing

Options
Hi everyone. Since starting on this journey to eat better I have noticed my taste preferences changing. Some days I really want nothing to eat because the tastes, spices, etc just seem to be overwhelming. The down-side of that, is if I'm craving something "bland", that usually means no taste - which are mostly carbs and I am trying to eat less of that.

Have any of you experienced this? If so, how have you coped with it? I'm a newbie and I'm needing some advice from people who have been doing this thing for a while. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• TheVirgoddess
    TheVirgoddess Posts: 4,535 Member
    Options
    My tastes preferences have definitely changed over the past 9 months. I can't handle large amounts of sodium anymore - it makes me feel really icky. Generally this is only an issue when I eat out though - the salt makes everything taste overwhelming.

The only recommendation I have is to cook your food yourself - giving you total control over the seasonings. So I'm not much help I guess ;)
  • SandyCoils
    SandyCoils Posts: 164 Member
    Options
    Oh no, on the contrary. I want suggestions and advice and want to know how people who are experiencing the same thing are dealing with this. One example is, I would eat banana peppers on my sandwiches, now the vinegary taste on the sandwich is nauseating to me. This is HUGE, because that was part of what helped me to eat a nice sandwich instead of a burger. I got used to the change, and now I have to change again.
  • TheVirgoddess
    TheVirgoddess Posts: 4,535 Member
    Options
    Maybe use less banana peppers on your sandwich, so the flavor isn't so overwhelming?
  • Teneko
    Teneko Posts: 314 Member
    Options
    Try cauliflower. It's a low carb staple.
    I found a recipe for awesome mashed cauliflower that truly gave my high carb precious mashed potatoes a run for their money. An immersion blender is SUPER helpful for the "mashing" part, btw.