Polar FT7 problems

Options
JAT74
JAT74 Posts: 1,078 Member
About 2 years ago I bought a Polar FT7 because I started training a lot more than before and wanted to monitor my calorie burns and heart rate etc. I trusted the Polar name so although I didn't look up any reviews before I bought it (spur of the moment decision) I thought I was buying something which would be good quality and reliable.

At first it seemed to work well, but then it stopped picking up my heart rate from time to time, despite changing batteries in both the watch and the strap unit. After a while I stopped trying to use it because it was so unreliable.

I should really have sent it off to be checked/fixed at the time as it was under warranty, but I'd lost my receipt. I then had an accident which meant I couldn't exercise for a very long time and I forgot about the problem with the Polar completely, until I found it during a clear out a couple of weeks ago. I now want to try and get it fixed as it cost me money and given the little use I had from it I feel like I wasted my money.

Has anyone else got one of these or similar which has been problematic and had it fixed? I have emailed Polar and I'm waiting for a reply, but am dubious about how helpful they will be and the cost to fix the unit.

It would be a shame if it doesn't get fixed because it's a tool which can really help keep me motivated in my weight loss journey.

Replies

• alasin1derland
    alasin1derland Posts: 575 Member
    Options
    When mine won't register my heart rate, I remove the battery, hold your thumbs on both the snaps of the device for a slow count to 10. Leave the battery out for 6 or 7 minutes. Do not rush this. Then it works. I found this info on the polar site after I started having trouble with mine. I had changed all the batteries so I like you I had ruled that out. Works great after reset.
  • JAT74
    Options