Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Calorie allowance seems vary high

When I first setup my account I had a 2900cal. Goal? I'm a carpenter for a living. MFP suggested I enter vary active but I entered active and 1 pound a week weight loss. The I upped weight loss to 2# a week which brought the goal down to 2500 calories.
More days then not I'm 1000 calories short of my calorie goal. This sems like a large discrepancy.
I'm care full about logging my food and drinks
Any thoughts?

Replies

• meritage4
    meritage4 Posts: 1,441 Member
    How is it working for you? Has weight come off?
  • I like it so far. Just added an UP24
  • crisisplanning
    crisisplanning Posts: 2 Member
    If you also included fitness goals for exercise when you set-up your goals, by default MFP adds those calories expected to be burned back into your daily calorie goal so that your overall anticipated loss will not exceed the weekly weight loss that you set. If you did set exercise goals, you might want to set them at zero and see what your daily calories should be. Then, exercise can either be an added loss bonus or an opportunity to eat back a portion of those calories if need be.
  • loulamb7
    loulamb7 Posts: 801 Member
    MFP is set up to account for your gender, height, weight and activity level. So it's difficult to say whether these numbers are high or low. Also keep in mind that these are estimates, you should adjust up or down based on your personal experience. If you're losing faster then expected, eat more. Why do you find 2500 calories too high? How much were you eating before your started MFP?
  • No fitness goals addBy
  • By the end of the day and I've eaten well I get a not that says I maY not be eating enough. I can imagine eating another thousand calories
  • Daiako
    Daiako Posts: 12,545 Member