Half a cup- how much in grams

Options
gwenjones63
gwenjones63 Posts: 4 Member
Hi Im new to all this and the receipes throw me as they say half a cup of ingredients.
How much is half a cup in grams.
Im from the uk and we end to measure in metric.

Replies

• sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Depends on what your put in the cup! A cup of lettuce weighs less than a cup of flour for example.

Cups measure volume not weight.
  • skipping_pete
    Options
    A cup should be 250ml, and the idea of measuring with cups is so that you decide on the size of the cup you use as to how many people you are catering for.
  • TheDarkestStar87
    TheDarkestStar87 Posts: 246 Member
    Options
    Cups measure volume rather than weight, 1 cup is around 250ml. There's no straightforward conversion to grams as each item weighs different amounts. I'm from the UK too, you can get measuring cups quite cheaply, Lakeland have them and I think Wilko do too.
  • Mrbadbern
    Mrbadbern Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    1 cup equals 236.588 ML. 1/2 Cup equals 118.294ML
  • BodyByButter
    BodyByButter Posts: 563 Member
    edited February 2015
    Options
    sijomial wrote: »
    Depends on what your put in the cup! A cup of lettuce weighs less than a cup of flour for example.

Cups measure volume not weight.

This is the correct answer. ML are not relevant to your question.
  • EmmaFitzwilliam
    EmmaFitzwilliam Posts: 482 Member
    Options
    Unfortunately, you need to know the density of what you are weighing. That's why a food scale with a digital readout that displays weights in either oz. or grams is such a valuable investment. (They're not that expensive; about $10-$40 US depending on what you want.) 3/4 c of cereal is 31 grams, but 1/2 c of ice cream is 85 grams. :neutral_face: