Muscle fatigue?

Options
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, but I hit kind of a situation unique to me, so I thought i'd ask everyone for advice.

I have been doing bodyweight and cardio exercises for almost 3 years now, and I thought i'd try to mix it up a little bit by adding weight. So I have been lifting weights along with doing cardio for the past 1 year.

I again decided to up the ante by wearing a 20 pound vest while doing my exercises. I work out with a group of people every couple weeks and we take turns coming up with the workouts. About a week and a half ago we did something kinda extreme with what I was wearing. Along with everything else we did, we did many and I mean MANY pull ups (it got to the point where I had to be pushed up so I could do negatives).

The next day as well as the next week (I just started feeling better a few days ago) I was so sore that I could not extend my arms nor lift my arms over my head and participating in daily life (like going to work) make me feel feverish and was very painful to do anything.

Now that I feel better and am no longer sore, I tried doing light workouts to get back into the swing of things. Running feels heavy but its doable, I can work out my abs just fine; but when it comes to pushups, I get tired around 25 -30 (my arms do, not me really) and I just attemped to do pull ups and it hurt like hell in my arm to even try to pull myself up, so I can't even do one right now.

Should I be worried? Do I need more rest? Or is this more serious?

Replies

• runner359
    runner359 Posts: 90 Member
    Options
    Sounds like you just way overdid it. If you still feel weird in a week it might be something.
  • gotolam
    gotolam Posts: 262 Member
    Options
    My guess is your arms are tired now because you haven't really used them for a week or so when they were all jacked up. Get back into it slowly.