P90X Suggested Calorie Intake seems extremely high! HELP Please!

Options
Hi,

I've purchased P90X 2 years ago and completed 8 weeks of it. I never paid attention to the proper calorie intake at the time, I just ate as healthy as possible and all natural. I want to get back into shape and stay in shape so I want to do this right so I can remain motivated.

I am a Software Developer, I live a sedentary lifestyle due to my desk job. I tried the calculation in the nutrition guide it seems extremely high; Phase III - 3000+. To be precise, I am suggested to eat 3293 calories daily! This scares me. Is this true?

My weight = 213 lbs.
My RMR apparently is 2131
My daily activity burn is 2811kcal x 20% = 562
Add the calories required for exercise needs calculated at 600 calories per day for the P90X program.

2131 + 562 + 600 = 3293 calories a day.

This seems like a lot. Should I ACTUALLY eat this many calories a day? My goal is to LOSE weight and git fit again!

Thanks

Replies

• foursirius
    foursirius Posts: 321 Member
    Options
    Just calculate you tee (google it if you dont know what this is) take off 10-20% and hit those daily levels.
  • LKArgh
    LKArgh Posts: 5,179 Member
    edited February 2015
    Options
    Yes, it does sound a lot if the goal is to lose weight and you otherwise are not very active. Have you tried any TDEE calculator to cross check?
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    Only you'll know it is enough or two much is to do it for a while and track performance.
  • tdelam
    tdelam Posts: 48 Member
    Options
    My TDEE is 2316. I plan on starting my P90X tomorrow morning but still not sure what the proper nutrition/calorie intake I should be at. According to the calculation in the nutrition guide I should be eating 3293, lol... I don't think I can even eat that much in a day!
  • Holla4mom
    Holla4mom Posts: 587 Member
    Options