Under calories still

Options
ariyana18
ariyana18 Posts: 6 Member
edited February 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
So yesterday I logged everything. It was tons of fruit and veggies. And even one of those protein shakes. Turkey bacon and tilapia. I'm still almost 100 calories under what I need (I added blackberries to see where it would put me and so Mfp would leave me alone). I feel like I've eaten a ton! Is this okay? To be under?

Replies

• marysamezz
    marysamezz Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    it depends on if you're trying to lose, maintain, or bulk. have you calculated your TDEE or BMR to find out how many calories you should be eating? If you're trying to lose you should be eating 15-20% less than your TDEE and pretty much should stick with that number. Going under 100 I would say is fine but I'm not an expert. Consistently going under your BMR would be no good, and could result in fatigue, fat retention, etc. I would say to figure out your numbers and stick to em!
  • futuremanda
    futuremanda Posts: 816 Member
    Options
    Yep!

Life will bring variance. You'll go out to eat with friends or go to a party or a holiday will come up. Some days you'll eat more, others less.

You wouldn't want to be eating really low consistently. You want to pay attention to how you feel and your nutrition. But don't focus too much on any one single day, either by not meeting or going over a goal. Maybe look at how you do weekly or monthly and start to get an idea of how you've been doing "typically" and adjust from there.

Also, a few tips in case some of this is new for you: A food scale is a *much* more accurate and easy way to count calories. Don't forget little things -- oil used in cooking, condiments and additives (butter, jam, sugar, milk, cream, ketchup, etc), candies/mints/gum, etc. Finally, even if you weigh everything, calories are still an estimate -- so a bit of variance should not be taken too seriously.
  • segacs
    segacs Posts: 4,599 Member