Day one, grocery shopping tomorrow, any help appreciated :-)

Options
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MFP, added the app a few years back but never really used it.

I'm going shopping tomorrow and would appreciate any advice on what I should buy. I don't have a large budget to work with at the moment. I don't really like to cook although I'm trying to change my mindset on this. So any low cost, easy to prepare and cook meal ideas would be great.

One of my biggest problems is I eat the same foods over and over again and get sick of them.

I'd love some new friends so feel free to add me :-)
Thanks for taking the time to read!

Replies

• katab2014
    katab2014 Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    Can't tell from this if you live in UK or not. Golden rule is to work out your list and stick to it. better still..online grocery shopping stops the old hand jerk when stuff jumps into your basket inadvertently! And supermarkets put extra stuff at end of aisles to lure you in. Buying in bulk may be cheaper e.g pasta etc And if you like salad, I used to make a big bowl of salad a week..
  • shaz_0206
    shaz_0206 Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    Thanks, I live in uk but I'm actually going to be in America untill August. I'm quite good at not putting extra things in my trolley, I struggle more with thinking up new ideas for food.
  • ScientificExplorerGirl
    Options
    It really depends on what you like. Some of my staple items include:

Greek yogurt
    Cottage cheese
    apple butter
    frozen berries
    whey protein
    eggs
    cheese
    chicken
    tilapia
    salmon
    cheese
    salad items
    spinach
    carrots

All of the above items are relatively inexpensive and can make numerous types of meals with different spices etc.

Getting sufficient protein (~1 gram per pound of lean body mass) is key in my diet also adequate fats. The remaining calories are made up with carbs.
  • Lizzy622
    Lizzy622 Posts: 3,705 Member
    Options