What does "rest day" mean to you?

Options

Replies

• JoRocka
    JoRocka Posts: 17,525 Member
    Options
    tycho_mx wrote: »
    JoRocka wrote: »
    I have a question- as this is on the list today....

why are people so afraid of actually doing NOTHING on their rest day?
    that seems to be a common issue... (not saying it's OP's) but what's the fear there?

It's not fear (in my case, at least). It's an optimization of a training system.

Some people with the exercise habit get anxious if they don't at least move a bit. And, because for a lot of us sore muscles feel better with gentle exercising than simply not doing anything.

My current coach doesn't prescribe me absolute rest days during training cycles (there are some full break periods). But I have some experience experimenting with what works for me. And my aims are very precise (cycling related), not just feel well/look well/lose weight.

I understand that sore muscles feel better with movement.

Again- I train- I don't just "workout" to feel well.

But- yeah- having a down day of doing practically nothing- to nothing at all isn't bad.

I am grateful I have dance days built into my "off lift" days- usually I go through a full 30-45 min yoga stretch on 1-2 of those days.
    But seriously- Wednesday- I do Na-Ting.

I get up- go to work- sit on my bounce ball- stretch at work b/c I gets stiff- go home- go to dinner with my darling BF and then either come home have a romp in the sack- or just sit on the couch cuddle and watch TV.

Nothing wrong with doing- NOTHING. I guess is my point. Learning how to truly rest is just as important as actually training.

I'd second whoever says mobility work- doing foam rolling and mobility work on down days is also extremely important.
  • ddixon503
    ddixon503 Posts: 119 Member
    Options
    Rest Day? You mean they actually EXIST?!? ;)
  • giantrobot_powerlifting
    giantrobot_powerlifting Posts: 2,598 Member
    Options