loose vs lose

Options
124»

Replies

• LaceyRuth
    LaceyRuth Posts: 51 Member
    Options
    As an English major not wanting to be that friend that only comments on grammar mistakes — THANK YOU
  • callsitlikeiseeit
    callsitlikeiseeit Posts: 8,627 Member
    Options
    LaceyRuth wrote: »
    As an English major not wanting to be that friend that only comments on grammar mistakes — THANK YOU

I make my living as a writer. Don't let my lack of apostrophes and capitalization bug you too much. When it matters, I can sound edumacated :P
  • LAWoman72
    LAWoman72 Posts: 2,846 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    I'm an editor, and I'm not bothered, in general, by bad grammar.

Everyone has his/her own strengths - and weaknesses. I can run circles around most people I know when it comes to grammar, but challenge me to a math-off and you would honestly wonder how I ever got through school.

The MOST ironic thing I see is when people attempt to correct grammar...while using bad grammar. It can be something big or small. For example, Santa was referenced above, but not capitalized. ;)

EVERYONE screws up grammatically once in a while on the internet. Sometimes it's consistent; yes, "loose" for lose comes up quite a bit. Sometimes it just...happens. You transpose a couple letters (very common), you have a brain fart, you get autocorrected incorrectly (to/too or what-have-you). Is it such a big deal?

So I guess I'd say my biggest pet peeve on this subject is when people use bad grammar to correct someone else's grammar. ;) But even then...whatever. People need to feel "smarter" or superior, and this is a very follow-the-leader way to do it. Whatever gets you through the day. ;)
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    Good luck with this. I imagine it's like holding back a tsunami with your hands. My pet peeve; tow the line instead of toe the line. I visualise as I read and these slip-ups give me weird images.

My eyes! My eyes!
  • auddii