Broke = Fat

Options

Replies

• krisnic0525
    krisnic0525 Posts: 14
    Options
    Don't give up! I'm a broke graduate student myself so I understand your situation. Try looking for discount produce--some times you can find perfectly good produce on discount because its bruised or isn't moving off the shelves fast enough. Also try checking out your local farmers market. I also agree with the other posters about getting your family involved. Look for generic or store brands versions of healthier food options. And finally, sometimes you have to sacrifice a bit. I know you have probably heard this your entire graduate school career with regards to other facets of your life but this is a time to seriously dig deep again. Your health is more important than anything. You have to live long enough to enjoy that degree you've been slaving away for. I've made the decision to cut back spending in others aspects of my life, and dare I say it, go a little out of my budget in other ways for my health and fitness. Remember you are worth it!
  • wonnder1
    wonnder1 Posts: 460
    Options
    It's not easy, no joke. I think most of us have been there.

A scale? Not really necessary. A measuring tape or even string will do it.

Here's the thing, it's not that Broke=Fat. It's Broke=Creative.

Yes, it's easier to buy Kraft Dinner and Ramen noodles. And I swore when I finished University that I would never eat it again, but there were times in my life I had to.

It's what you do with Ramen noodles that count. Nobody ever said your vegetables had to be hand picked local organic. A giant bag of frozen veggies is a steal.

You have to make better decisions with what you can afford. A pack of ramen, spice packet removed with a little bit of soy and a whole bunch of frozen veg. Those big boxes of chicken breasts. Hell, tomato soup with water. Yes, you can buy a cheap frozen pizza. Or you can buy pita bread, tomato sauce, veggies and make assembling them a family affair.