Using iphone to count steps

Options
hi. I am new to my fitness pal, And have a question. If I am using my iPhone to log my steps and it is syncing to my fitness pal, would I still go ahead and add my daily uphill walk to my fitness pal is a cardio exercise? Or, does the steps that the phone is counting already count az the daily excersise? Thanks forcthe help!

Replies

• TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    Options
    Will you be taking your phone with on your uphill walk? If yes, you will be double counting.

Steps are really considered part of your activity level. Some steps are fast, some steps are slow. Exercise is something you do above and beyond normal everyday activity. That's not to say walking (uphill especially) won't be exercise. You could give yourself a little "bonus" for the uphill walk. Maybe put in 1/2 the time to be conservative.
  • Maddyjo57
    Maddyjo57 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Okay. So what I am going to do is use map my walk, the app which figures the calories etc. And record that for my workout. I will only use my I phone steps in the house, etc. Thank you!
  • llmg970
    llmg970 Posts: 257 Member
    Options
    The apps will adjust your walk from mmw if you map it out just check your diary after you finish the walking route
  • MissJennNace
    MissJennNace Posts: 3 Member
    Options