serious weight question....

Options
I am SERIOUSLY confused on one thing.... or a couple of things that all go together... Please help!! :)

We are eating healthy and working out, and the scale stays the same.... why? I have heard a million answers to this, such as muscle weighs more than fat, muscle is more dense than fat, your body is losing inches so the pounds don't matter, etc etc etc.

Now, I understand that a pound is a pound is a pound, so muscle does NOT weigh more than fat. Not quite sure what density has to do with it, when it still is the same weight.... but, if you are losing inches, why are you not losing pounds?

2 inches of (skin, fat, muscle, bodily fluids, etc) you would think would weigh SOMETHING... right?

Now, I am not too worried because I know that the inches is the most important, and frankly I'm just starting out and know that I have a long way to go. But I am reading so many questions or comments about inches and no weight, and I just don't understand how that can be. Can someone, anyone explain this to me? =0)

Replies

• snakegoddess_3
    Options
    ok as I understand it and you said it best a pound is a pound either fat or muscle. But you can lose fat, gain muscle and not lose weight because it's displaced. You will however still lose inches because you've lost fat. Is that still confusing because it makes sense to me
  • SarahWrittenThin
    SarahWrittenThin Posts: 595 Member
    Options
    its more that you would be losing fat, and REPLACING it with muscle on your body which takes up like 5 times less room than the equivelant weight of fat.
  • sh0ck
    sh0ck Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    Sure, a pound of fat and a pound of muscle BOTH weight 1 pound but the space that they take up is different (hence the mention of density). I don't know the exact measurements but a pound of fat is "bigger in size/volume" than a pound of muscle.