I need some advice!

Options
Hi! So I am a college student whose lost about 25lbs since August (I am currently 158) and I'd like to lose another 25 but I'm struggling a little at the moment. Being a college student my dietary options are limited but I do a pretty good job of eating healthily in my dorm room, my problem is going out to eat. I'm very social and hate getting trapped on campus so when my friends go out I usually go with them, but unfortunately they usually go to get fast food. I guess the root of my problem is just saying no, with everyone around me eating and having fun I wanna join in and usually get food too, even if I had told myself I wouldn't and eat something healthy when I got home. I try to pick healthier options but as a vegetarian and someone with several sever food allergies I am sometimes limited to fries or shakes. Recently I have been making use of online menus with nutritional information to choose the "healthiest" option before we even get there but I'd like some more tips and tricks any of you veterans might have to stick with my diet!

Replies

• thatguynick
    thatguynick Posts: 106 Member
    Options
    I'm the same way, I look to find the healthiest options within what I like to eat. If you get fries, get a small and eat slowly. Since you're social, talk more than you eat :) You don't have to eat as fast as everyone else.
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    The vast majority of successful dieters on this forum support the idea of moderation. If I was faced with your dilemma I would have the following options.

1. Stay focused and undestand the overall objective is to stay on track and consume in a way that protects your deficit as reaching target you have decided is important.
    2. Portion control. You are doing a good job in using your brain and picking foods that are healthy and less calorie dense. Most chain fast food joints serve a healthier option.