50 and Frustrated

Options
Hello All,
I'm so frustrated with how difficult it is to lose weight after 50. I'll be 52 in a few months, and all I need to lose is 10 pounds. I'm a fitness instructor, I eat really healthy for the most part, and yet it is crazy how tough this is! Anyone else in my boat?

Replies

• dramos1961
    dramos1961 Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    Yeah, after 50 its hard! 53 here and can drop easy but to maintain it suxs! Heads up Donna keep up the sweat and burn it off! GLTU
  • Camo_xxx
    Camo_xxx Posts: 1,082 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Hi Donna,
    I am just turning 50 and having been a profesional athlete most of my life I was immobilized for 18 months with a broken neck. I gained 60 pounds during the 2 years of hell and I am still rehabbing. I have lost 50 of those lbs those so far.

So frustrated ? Beyond measure. What was hard was getting to the point of committing to a goal. I had every excuse know why I couldn't or really didn't want to do it. Once I accepted that it had to be done I made the goal. Educated myself on how MFP works and commited to a plan. Sticking to the plan has had a few minor challenges but in reality the day to day execution has be relatively simple. I think a large part of that was I was not constantly faced with the huge number of how much I had to lose. I knew I had a solid plan, I knew I would lose 2 pounds a week if I stuck to the plan and all I had to do was make the make the meal in front of me fit my calorie budget. no big scary thought of 60 POUNDS ! nope, just make this lunch 450 calories of delicious goodness and I will accomplish my goal.

anyhow, don't let age be your excuse. Set your goal, devise a plan, execute, WIN !
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member
    Options
    This +1
    anyhow, don't let age be your excuse. Set your goal, devise a plan, execute, WIN !