college kid trying to go veg

Options
Hello! This is my first year at a university and I've felt strongly for the vegetarian/vegan cause for a few years, but couldn't get my old-fashioned family to give up their ways, so this idea has been on the back burner for some time. I would try to go meatless when I had the option, but definitely have not been going out of my way to.
Now that I'm at school, I certainly want to continue moving this direction, eating as little meat as I can manage. The new problem is that my school is catered by Sodexo and the only meatless options are typically side dishes and pasta. Now that I'm on MFP and more aware that I cannot subsist entirely on carbs, I need some veg advice as to how to meet my macros and not feel like I've been eating scraps all day. I rarely ever cook anything because I can hardly afford to, so that adds another strike against me. I'm not opposed to eating meat on occasion, but I don't want it to be the staple of every meal anymore.
I'm still up in the air about eggs and dairy. I drink Silk and use calcium supplements, and have been eating eggs slightly more frequently (I used to never touch them, but have grown to enjoy an omlette now and again).
Apologies for the long and specific post, but thank you for any help at all!
(My campus also has a SubConnetion and Pandini's, both owned by Sodexo, if that gives more options)

Replies

• _John_
    _John_ Posts: 8,642 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    canned stuff makes an easy way to get in more veggies when you can't cook them (microwave is nice though). Several brands make preseasoned stuff that actually tastes decent and isn't a salt bomb.

If you have a fridge, throwing some cheese over some canned refried beans (fat free or they may be cooked in lard) is a nice, quick, high protein vegetarian meal.

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    Pandini's has vegetarian pizza of course. Does your Sodexo have Vegan Burritos?
  • Zinka61