Nursing a baby

Options
is there a way to add in the calories in order to eat enough for the baby but also lose weight?

Replies

• CooCooPuff
    CooCooPuff Posts: 4,374 Member
    Options
    I would speak with your doctor about this, not strangers on the Internet.
  • rosy1439
    rosy1439 Posts: 1
    Options
    Definetly consult a doctor :)
  • craft4fun
    craft4fun Posts: 76 Member
    Options
    In my own experience with nursing I ate more than I ever did in my life & lost weight. Good luck.
  • Loluka88
    Loluka88 Posts: 38 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    My doctor calculated my TDEE (1760) and then added 500 calories to that when I was nursing full time. She said at the very minimum to eat 2,000. You should absolutely talk to your doctor first though!
  • goddessheatherr
    goddessheatherr Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    I am not a doctor and maybe just call them, I know in the beginning you need an extra 500 calories. I have a nursing 19 month old and is big and healthy. I have been dieting for 3 weeks now and eating healthy foods, not skipping meals or cutting back crazy. I have fruits, vegetables, good carbs, dairy and protein. I am not adding an extra 500 calories. I eat 1100-1300 calories a day and am not hungry. Because I plan everything and eat bigger meals not junk. Im not saying to do this, this is what I do and my baby is perfectly fine. I workout too and am slowly losing like I want. I don't want to go too crazy, I actually wanna keep off the blub. lol good luck!
  • kender54
    kender54 Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    If you've already talked to your doctor and are more looking for a way to add this information into MFP, when you're entering food, you can search "breastfeeding" and it will come up with a negative calorie adjustment. Based on the amount you've discussed with your doctor, you can add this as a calorie adjustment.
  • kajones2009
    kajones2009 Posts: 93 Member
    Options