too much protein

Options
Airbear3
Airbear3 Posts: 335 Member
i'm new to MFP, been working on myself since feb, and lost 13 lbs. been on here for 6 days and lost 4! My question is on my food diary i always seem to have too much protein, will this hurt my weight loss or what will it do? P.S. thanks for all the eat your exercise calories articles, that was my problem!

Replies

• cupfanncbms
    cupfanncbms Posts: 101
    Options
    I think the numbers for protein and fiber are minimums. You need protein to gain muscle, which will help you burn fat.

WTG on the loss thus far!
  • Angela_MA
    Angela_MA Posts: 260
    Options
    Nope, protein is good for you and helps repair and build muscles!! This site has protein low and you can change it up in your goals section! :) Worry more about sodium, sugar, carbs and saturated/trans fats. :happy:
  • ChitownFoodie
    ChitownFoodie Posts: 1,562 Member
    Options
    MFP has protien set very low and carbs set way too high. I changed my goals to look closer to what fitness instructors have told me. 30% Carbs, 35% Protien and 35% Fat.
  • PeachyKeene
    PeachyKeene Posts: 1,645 Member
    Options
    ditto what they all said
  • jmatsko19
    jmatsko19 Posts: 10
    Options
    it won't hurt your weight loss goal as long as the calories are under thats the only thing that matters in terms of weight loss, too much protein will be stored as fat and can be hard on your kidneys, so if you are going over by a little no big deal, if you are going over by a lot i would address it, and eating protein does not burn fat that is incorrect
  • ellebeth
    ellebeth Posts: 1
    Options
    Good question. I have the same problem. But I'm pretty sure a little over is ok, because protein is super important for your muscles. And most protein doesn't have a lot of carbs.
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options